Creator(s): Archives and Special Collections, Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary
Extent: 1.0 cu.ft.
Biographical Note: Theodore F. Adams was, most notably, Pastor of First Baptist Church, Richmond, VA. (1936–1968), and served as President of the Baptist World Alliance (1955–1960) and Visiting Professor of Preaching at SEBTS (1968–1978). He also authored four books. He was the husband of Esther Jillson Adams. The William Amos Johnson Medical Building, constructed in 1933 by Wake Forest College, was renamed Adams Hall in 1982 in his honor by the Trustees of SEBTS. He received his A.B from Denison University, Granville, Ohio, and his B.D. from Rochester Theological Seminary (New York). He received ten honorary degrees. Born 1898/09/26. Died 1980/02/27.
Scope and Contents: This collection contains audio-cassette tapes, photographic slides, and other materials ranging from 1977–1985 that were collected by SEBTS Archives and Special Collections staff. These predominantly biographical and oral history related materials document the lives and ministries of Theodore F. Adams and his wife Esther Jillson Adams.
The majority of the collection consists of oral history interviews with Theodore Adams that were conducted from 1977–1980 by Eugene McLeod, Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary Librarian. Materials related to those interviews, such as notes and transcripts, are also available. Additionally, the collection includes a slide presentation by Dr. and Mrs. Adams titled “ ’If’ for a Minster’s Wife” consisting of an audio recording, slides, cue sheet, and accompanying poem. Other resources in the collection include a biography of Dr. Adams, Dr. Adams’ Curriculum Vitae, and a pamphlet documenting a speech given by Dr. Adams at the annual meeting of the Board of Trustees of Richmond Memorial Hospital on January 11, 1979.
Conditions Governing Access: This collection is open for research.
Related Materials: “Theodore Floyd Adams File” in the “SEBTS Faculty & Administration Bios Collection,” Box 1. Archives and Special Collections, Library at Southeastern, Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary, Wake Forest, NC.
Custodial History: The audio-cassette presentation of “‘If’ for a Minister’s Wife” by the Dr. and Mrs. Adams and related materials were donated on 09/27/1988 by Mrs. John (Laura) Lawrence.
The oral interview materials (1978-1980) were held in the Administrative Assistant’s office files until 02/10/1999 when they were moved to the Archives.
These two groups of material were at some point subsequent to 1999 combined to form a Theodore Floyd Adams collection. Presumably Carlton’s biography of Adams was included at this time, as well as the CV and hospital pamphlet.
Processing History: Arranged and described by Craig Freeman in January, 2014. Collection level description created by Bill Youngmark on 12/8/2015.
Preferred Citation: Theodore F. Adams collection, Archives and Special Collections, Library at Southeastern, Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary, Wake Forest, NC.
Repository: Archives and Special Collections, Library at Southeastern, Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary, Wake Forest, NC
Resource Identifier: ARC.
Subjects and Access Points:
Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary
First Baptist Church (Richmond, Va.)
Baptist World Alliance
Spouses of clergy