Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections at Southeastern: Alcorn, Wallace A. papers

This guide is designed to introduce researchers to Archives and Special Collections at Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary.

Wallace A. Alcorn papers, 1844-2012, predominantly 1948-2012

Creator(s): Alcorn, Wallace
Date(s): 1844–2012, predominant 1948–2012
Extent: 12.0 cu.ft.
Biographical Note: Wallace A. Alcorn (1930-present) is an ordained Baptist minister, who served as pastor of churches in New Jersey, Michigan, Wisconsin, and Minnesota, where he served at First Baptist Church, Austin, MN (G.A.R.B.C., 1976–1983). He taught Bible at Moody Bible Institute (Chicago) and New Testament at Northwest Baptist Seminary (Tacoma, Washington). His education consisted of an A.B. in philosophy from Wheaton College, M.Div. from Grand Rapids Baptist Theological Seminary, Th.M. from Princeton Theological Seminary, and Ph.D. from New York University. He served in the military for forty-three years, mostly in the reserves, and was an U.S. Army chaplain (Major). He wrote articles for numerous Christian publications and served as National News Editor for Christian Life Magazine, contributing columnist to the Austin Daily Herald (MN) for 36 years, and is the author of Knowing and Using the Bible, as well as other Bible study materials.

Scope and Contents: This collection contains mostly paper documents, including some pictures, ranging from 1844–2012 that were created and/or collected by Wallace A. Alcorn. These papers document his life in ministry and the military, his literary career, and his interest in biblical studies, history, music, and politics.

This collection includes copies of select Wilbur M. Smith correspondence from the years 1917–1936, historical materials related to the early history of First Baptist Church, Austin, Minnesota (predominately 1850s), historical material related to the life of Forrest A. Marsh (1844–1897), and several folders of Christian hymns and chorus material.

Language(s): English
Conditions Governing Access: This collection is open for research.
Custodial History: Wallace Alcorn donated his papers to SEBTS in 2013.
Processing History: Arranged and described by Craig Freeman in 09/2013. Collection level description created by Bill Youngmark on 12/16/2015.
Preferred Citation: Wallace A. Alcorn papers, Archives and Special Collections, Library at Southeastern, Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary, Wake Forest, NC.
Repository: Archives and Special Collections, Library at Southeastern, Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary, Wake Forest, NC
Resource Identifier: ARC.018
Subjects and Access Points:
Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary
First Baptist Church (Austin, MN)
Moody Bible Institute (Chicago)
Northwest Baptist Seminary (Tacoma, WA)
Chaplain
Clergy
General Association of Regular Baptist Churches