Creator(s): Andrews, William Parker, 1921–2009
Date(s): 1946–2008, predominant 1960–1990
Extent: 7.0 cu.ft.
Biographical Note: William Parker Andrews (1921-2009) and his wife, Connie, served 37 years (1950–1987) as career missionaries in Chile, South America, with the Foreign Mission Board of the Southern Baptist Convention. He was a graduate of Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary (B.D., 1950) and the University of Texas (B.B.A.). After high school, he served in the U.S. Navy. In his church-planting ministry he specialized in marital counseling. The Andrews’ service in Chile occurred primarily in four cities: Santiago (6 months); Concepcion (1 yr.); Temuco (11 yrs.); and Osorno (23 yrs.).
Scope and Contents: This collection contains mostly paper documents, including some pictures, ranging from 1946–2008 that were created and/or collected by William Parker Andrews and his wife, Connie. These papers document his life in missions and ministry in Chile, S. A. , and includes representative sermon material, with a good selection of materials in Spanish.
Language(s): English, Spanish
Conditions Governing Access: This collection is open for research.
Custodial History: The William Parker Andrews Papers were donated to SEBTS by Mrs. Connie Andrews in November, 2010.
Processing History: Arranged and described by Craig Freeman in April, 2012. Collection level description created by Bill Youngmark on 01/09/2016.
Preferred Citation: William Parker Andrews papers, Archives and Special Collections, Library at Southeastern, Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary, Wake Forest, NC.
Repository: Archives and Special Collections, Library at Southeastern, Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary, Wake Forest, NC
Resource Identifier: ARC.039
Subjects and Access Points:
Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary
Foreign Mission Board (FMB) of the Southern Baptist Convention
International Mission Board (IMB) of the Southern Baptist Convention