Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections at Southeastern: Ballentine, John S. papers

This guide is designed to introduce researchers to Archives and Special Collections at Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary.

John S. Ballentine papers, 1911–2006, predominately 1950–2006

Creator(s): Ballentine, John Stuart, 1916–2006
Date(s): 1911–2006, predominant 1950–2006
Extent: 4.0 cu.ft.
Biographical Note: John Ballentine was pastor of churches in St. James, Tyler, St. Paul, and Minneapolis, MN, and in Nantucket, MA. He was the founder of Bryant Ave. Christian School (Mpls, MN), and was a State American Legion Chaplain and 1st Sergeant in Patton’s Army. He was also involved in many church, Christian education and civic activities. He was an ardent anti-communist and a theological separatist, affiliated with the Minnesota Baptist Association. He co-authored A Light in the Darkness: A History of the Minnesota Baptist Association, with Wellie Midgley.

Born: 1916
Died: 2006

Scope and Contents: This collection contains mostly paper documents, including some pictures, ranging from 1911–2006 that were created and/or collected by John Ballentine. These papers document his life in ministry and the military, and his interest in biblical separatism and anti-communism.

The papers include copies of select correspondence between Billy Graham and Richard V. Clearwaters from 1950–1952 related Northwestern College (Mpls.). It also contains a variety of newsletters from fundamentalist churches and organizations.

Language(s): English
Conditions Governing Access: This collection is open for research.
Custodial History: Mrs. Marva Ballentine donated her husband’s papers to SEBTS in 2008.
Processing History: Arranged and described by Craig Freeman in 09/2012. Collection level description created by Bill Youngmark on 01/06/2016.
Preferred Citation: John S. Ballentine papers, Archives and Special Collections, Library at Southeastern, Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary, Wake Forest, NC.
Repository: Archives and Special Collections, Library at Southeastern, Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary, Wake Forest, NC
Resource Identifier: ARC
Subjects and Access Points:
Minnesota Baptist Association
Bryant Ave. Baptist Church (Minneapolis, MN)
Communism
Fundamentalism
Clergy