Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections at Southeastern: Bulman, James papers

This guide is designed to introduce researchers to Archives and Special Collections at Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary.

James M. Bulman papers, 1942-1987, predominantly 1943-1982

Creator(s): Bulman, James M., 1922-1987
Date(s): 1942–1987, predominant 1943–1982
Extent: 28.0 cu.ft.

Biographical Note: James M. Bulman was a Baptist pastor, church parliamentarian, and author. He served four North Carolina churches after graduating from seminary: Cornelius Baptist Church, Cornelius, NC (1949–1955); East Spencer Baptist church, East Spencer, NC (1955–1960); Providence Baptist church, East Spencer, NC (1960–1967); and Central Baptist Church, Oak Ridge Baptist Church, Oak Ridge, NC (1967–1980). He was parliamentarian of the Southern Baptist Convention (1971) and of the NC Baptist Convention (1963–1975). He authored two books and numerous articles for theological journals.

He was born in Spartanburg, South Carolina, and educated at Furman University (B.A.) and Southern Baptist Theological Seminary (Th.M., Th.D.).

Born 1922/10/23
Died 1987/10/12

Scope and Contents: This collection contains audiocassettes, photographs, an LP record, and paper materials ranging primarily from 1947–1982 reflecting Bulman’s seminary studies, his published and unpublished writings, materials related to areas of his theological interests, sermon material, and his work as parliamentarian.

This collection includes materials related to (1) the church property dispute of North Rocky Mount Baptist Church, Rocky Mount, NC, and issues of church autonomy, (2) Bulman’s lawsuit against the Executive Committee of the SBC, (3) his dispute with the North Carolina Baptist Convention, (4) his charges of liberalism against Eric Rust, professor at Southern Baptist Theological Seminary, as well as (5) papers presented at the Conference on Biblical Inerrancy held at Wake Forest University (1980). It also contains substantive runs of Faith and Free Press and Southern Baptist Free Press, two publications initiated to represent conservative opinions in the SBC.

Language(s): English, Hebrew, Greek, German, Phoenician
Conditions Governing Access: This collection is open for research.
Custodial History: The James M. Bulman papers were donated to SEBTS in June, 2000.
Processing History: Arranged and described by Nathan Finn. Collection level description created by Bill Youngmark on 02/17/2016.
Preferred Citation: James M. Bulman papers, Archives and Special Collections, Library at Southeastern, Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary, Wake Forest, NC.
Repository: Archives and Special Collections, Library at Southeastern, Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary, Wake Forest, NC
Resource Identifier: ARC
Subjects and Access Points:
Southern Baptist Convention
Cornelius Baptist Church, Cornelius, NC
East Spencer Baptist Church, East Spencer, NC
Providence Baptist Church, East Spencer, NC
Central Baptist Church
Oak Ridge Baptist Church, Oak Ridge, NC
Parliamentarian
North Rocky Mount Baptist Church, Rocky Mount, NC
Inerrancy
Autonomy of the Local Church
Eric Rust
Faith and Free Press
Southern Baptist Free Press