Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections at Southeastern: Our Collections

This guide is designed to introduce researchers to Archives and Special Collections at Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary.

Our Collections

The Archives at Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary (SEBTS) is the research home for unique, primary source materials documenting the history of SEBTS, the Southern Baptist Convention, and churches, organizations, and individuals that have contributed to Baptist life and the cause of Christ.

These materials include rare books, personal papers and organizational records, SEBTS instutional records, and Baptist materials and church records. Additionally, our archives staff can help connect you with digital resources that support your research whether you are studying in the library or are a distance learner.

The following are the types of resources you can expect to find when conducting research in our archives.

Rare Books

Rare Books are bound materials that are  particularly unique due to their age, value, the number of extant copies, a previous owner, marginal notes, or other distinguishing factors.

Highlights from the SEBTS Collection

See Discovery Tools to learn more about finding Rare Books in our collection.

Personal Papers & Organizational Records

Personal Papers and Organizational Records consist of correspondence, notes, manuscripts, sermons, audiovisual recordings, electronic records, and other materials created and maintained by a particular person, family, or organization during the course of their life and/or work.

Highlights from the SEBTS Collection

See Finding Aids to learn more about searching our collections of personal papers in the archives

Institutional Records

Institutional Records consist of reports, correspondence, and other records of enduring historical value created by SEBTS administrators, departments, staff, or student groups in the course of their work for the institution.

Highlights from the SEBTS Collection

  • SEBTS Presidential Records
  • SEBTS Publications
  • Communications Records

See Finding Aids to learn more about searching our institutional records in the archives.

Baptist Materials and Church Records

Baptist materials and church records consist of annuals, minutes, newspapers and periodicals, and other materials documenting Baptist faith, practice, polity, and life.

Highlights from the SEBTS Collection

See Discovery Tools to learn more about finding Baptist Materials and Church Records in our collection.

Digital Collections and Online Primary Source Databases

Digital collections and primary source databases provide researchers with online access to copies of rare and unique holdings that had previously only be available for research onsite in archives or rare book collections.

Highlights from the SEBTS Collection

See Discovery Tools to learn more about searching primary source databases in our collection. See SEBTS Digital Resources to learn more about digital collections and primary source databases that are available through SEBTS. See the Baptist Digital Collections Guide for more information on digitized materials from other archives that are available online.