Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections at Southeastern: Donating Materials

This guide is designed to introduce researchers to Archives and Special Collections at Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary.

Collection Policy

Archives and Special Collections (ASC) in the Library at Southeastern actively collects materials documenting the history of Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary (SEBTS), the Southern Baptist Convention, and churches, organizations, and individuals that have contributed to Baptist life and the cause of Christ.

While ASC will collect broadly within these areas to support the needs of students and faculty, specific emphasis will be placed upon acquiring materials documenting the following topics that build upon the core holdings currently in our collection or grow new areas of strength to support primary source research within emphasized areas of the SEBTS curriculum.

  • Christian Apologetics
  • Christian Missions
  • Church Planting and Revitalization
  • Churches, organizations, and individuals representing Kingdom Diversity within the Southern Baptist Convention.
  • Conservative Resurgence in the Southern Baptist Convention
  • Baptist churches, local associations, and state conventions in North Carolina
  • Baptist churches, local associations, and state conventions cooperating within the Southern Baptist Convention that are located in states along the Eastern Seaboard of the United States, particularly those located in the under-documented regions of New England (Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont) and the Mid-Atlantic (Delaware, Washington, D.C., Maryland, New Jersey, New York, and Virginia).
  • Under-documented Baptist groups (ex. Primitive Baptists) without dedicated, organized, publically accessible, and professionally managed archival institutions to support the preservation and access of their records.
  • Born-digital Baptist records that cannot be adequately preserved and made accessible at other Baptist institutions

Please contact our Archivist and Digital Collections Manager at sjones@sebts.edu or 919-761-2220 to discuss donating materials to ASC. Our staff will happily work with you to find the best research home for your donations and ensure that they are preserved and accessible to researchers for generations to come.

For more information on the types of materials we collect in ASC and our preservation and access commitment to donors and patrons, please consult our Collection Development and Management Policy.

Donation, Loan, and Transfer Forms

One of the following forms is required when transferring materials into SEBTS possession temporarily or permanently.

Digitization Forms

The following forms are required for partners working with the SEBTS Digitization Lab to have materials digitized and made accessible online.