Creator(s): Duncan, Pope A., 1920-2003
Date(s): 1942–1970, predominant 1946–1970
Extent: 4.0 cu.ft.
Biographical Note: Pope Alexander Duncan was a pastor, professor, administrator, and author. He served as pastor of River View Baptist Church, Louisville, KY, while attending Southern Seminary. He taught Religion at Stetson University and Church History at SEBTS. He then served as Dean at Brunswick College (GA), as Vice-President and President of Georgia Southern College (now University), and President of Stetson University (FL). He authored four books, among them The Pilgrimage of Christianity and Our Baptist Story, contributed to several volumes, notably the Encyclopedia of Southern Baptists, and wrote numerous articles.
Pope Duncan attended the University of Georgia (B.S. physics/math), Southern Baptist Theological Seminary (Th.M.; Ph.D., Church History), and did post-doctoral study at Oxford, Union theological Seminary (NY), and the University of Zurich. He also received numerous honorary degrees. He married Margaret Flexer in 1943.
Pope Duncan served as president of Stetson for ten years (1977–1987), followed by 15 years as chancellor (1987–2002), and was chancellor emeritus at the time of his death.
Scope and Contents: This collection contains paper materials primarily from 1946–1970 related to Pope Duncan’s time on the faculty of SEBTS (1953–1963). In addition, the collection contains one reel-to-reel audio recording of sermons, and some pictures.
Language(s): English, German
Conditions Governing Access: This collection is open for research.
Technical Access: Researchers wishing to conduct research in the open reel audio recording must contact Archives staff in advance to make arrangements.
Related Materials: “Pope A. Duncan File” in the “SEBTS Faculty & Administration Bios Collection,” Box 2. Archives and Special Collections, Library at Southeastern, Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary, Wake Forest, NC.
Custodial History: Ms. Mary Margaret Duncan Jones donated to SEBTS in August, 2004, this portion of her father’s papers which were pertinent to the time he taught at SEBTS. One folder of material was received from Dr. George Shriver in July, 2004, at the request of Ms. Duncan Jones.
Processing History: Arranged and described by Craig Freeman in 01/2010. Collection level description created by Bill Youngmark on 02/24/2016.
Preferred Citation: Pope A. Duncan papers, Archives and Special Collections, Library at Southeastern, Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary, Wake Forest, NC.
Repository: Archives and Special Collections, Library at Southeastern, Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary, Wake Forest, NC
Resource Identifier: ASC
Subjects and Access Points:
Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary
Stetson University, Deland, FL
Brunswick College, Brunswick, GA
Georgia Southern University
River View Baptist Church, KY