Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections at Southeastern: Estes, T. W. papers

This guide is designed to introduce researchers to Archives and Special Collections at Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary.

T. W. Estes papers, 1927–2002, predominately 1950–1997

Creator(s): Estes, Thomas Wade, 1922-
Date(s): 1927–2002, predominant 1950–1997
Extent: 8.0 cu.ft.
Biographical Note: T. W. Estes (1922 -  ) served in the Marines during W.W. II, after which he attended Gardner-Webb Junior College, Wake Forest University (B.A.), and Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary (B.D., 1957). He was pastor of six North Carolina churches: Mt. Gilead (Pittsboro), Lawndale Baptist (Lawndale), Florence Baptist (Forest City), Mineral Springs Baptist (Winston-Salem), Westview Baptist (Shelby), and Guilford Baptist (Greensboro).

Scope and Contents: The T. W. Estes Papers consists of paper materials documenting his life and pastoral ministry. It includes primarily sermon related material and significant runs of church newsletters, along with articles and a few books.

Language(s): English
Conditions Governing Access: This collection is open for research.
Related Materials: T. W. Estes, oral interview by James Lutzweiler, DVD, 08/26/2004, Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary, Wake Forest, North Carolina.
Custodial History: The T. W. Estes Papers were donated to SEBTS in December, 2008, by Mozelle Estes, his wife.
Processing History: Arranged and described by Craig Freeman in January, 2014. Collection level description created by Bill Youngmark on 01/22/2016.
Preferred Citation: T. W. Estes papers, Archives and Special Collections, Library at Southeastern, Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary, Wake Forest, NC.
Repository: Archives and Special Collections, Library at Southeastern, Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary, Wake Forest, NC
Resource Identifier: ARC.046
Subjects and Access Points:
North Carolina clergy;
Mt. Gilead Baptist Church  (Pittsboro, NC);
Lawndale Baptist Church (Lawndale, NC);
Florence Baptist Church (Forest City, NC);
Mineral Springs Baptist Church (Winston-Salem, NC);
Westview Baptist Church (Shelby, NC);
Guilford Baptist Church (Greensboro, NC)