Creator(s): Frazier, Ann W., 1937-2002
Date(s): 1953–2002, predominant 1965–2001
Extent: 94.0 cu.ft.
Biographical Note: Ann W. Frazier was a member of Roanoke Baptist church, Roanoke Rapids, NC, where she served as a Sunday School teacher and church organist. For 20 years she was involved with adolescent sexuality issues, particularly abstinence-based education. She wrote the original grant for funding North Carolina’s “Abstinence Until Marriage” education, and had been appointed to various boards, commissions, and committees by Governor James G. Martin and Governor James B. Hunt, such as the North Carolina Family Planning Council, Adolescent Pregnancy Advisory Board, and Legislative Study Commission on Adolescent Pregnancy Prevention. She was a visiting lecturer at area universities and community colleges, including Southeastern Baptist Seminary.
Ann Frazier was an honors graduate in Education from Campbell University and Wake Forest University, and studied Christian Education and Music at SEBTS. She was founder and chairperson of the North Carolina Conservatives United, an organization which promoted Judeo-Christian and traditional family values. She was elected to the Executive Committee of the Southern Baptist Convention in 1997, and was serving as its Secretary when she died. Ann was very active in Baptist life and in the culture wars particularly in North Carolina. She was a member of the SEBTS Board of Visitors.
Scope and Contents: This collection contains audio-cassette tapes, video-cassette tapes, film strips, floppy discs, and other materials dating from 1953–2002 that were collected by Ann Frazier. This is an eclectic collection of educational topics related primarily to sex education involving AIDS, STDs, contraception, etc., but including broader topics such as Humanism, drugs, the New Age movement, and the occult.
Conditions Governing Access: This collection is open for research.
Related Materials: Donald Spencer Davis Papers, Archives and Special Collections, Library at Southeastern, Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary, Wake Forest, NC.
Custodial History: Dr. Richard Frazier, Ann Frazier’s husband, donated the materials to SEBTS at the suggestion of Dr. Cecil Rhodes, a former SEBTS trustee, on 02/14/2002.
Processing History: Arranged and described by Craig Freeman in December, 2009. Collection level description created by Bill Youngmark on 01/13/2016.
Preferred Citation: Ann W. Frazier Papers, Archives and Special Collections, Library at Southeastern, Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary, Wake Forest, NC.
Repository: Archives and Special Collections, Library at Southeastern, Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary, Wake Forest, NC
Resource Identifier: ARC
Subjects and Access Points:
North Carolina Educators;