Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections at Southeastern: Kaemmerling, Russell papers

This guide is designed to introduce researchers to Archives and Special Collections at Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary.

Russell Kaemmerling papers, 1842–2001, predominately 1936–2001

 

Creator: Kaemmerling, Russell
Date: 1842–2001, predominant 1936–2001
Extent: 20 cu.ft.
Biographical Note: Russell Kaemmerling attended Lamar University (B.S. 1973) and Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary (M.Div., 1976). He was the pastor of First Baptist Church, West Columbia, SC from 1977–1980. Kaemmerling edited two of the important communication vehicles of the Conservative Resurgence within the Southern Baptist Convention (SBC). He edited the Southern Baptist Journal, a publication of the Baptist Faith and Message Fellowship, in 1980 and then edited the Southern Baptist Advocate from 1980–1985. After this, he served behind the scenes to advance conservative causes within the SBC. He is the brother-in-law of Paige Patterson, one of the leaders of the Conservative Resurgence. He was elected as a trustee to the SBC International Mission Board in June, 2000.
Scope and Contents: This collection contains correspondence, news clippings and periodicals, notes, audio cassette tapes, images, and other materials ranging from 1842-2001, that were created and collected by Russell Kaemmerling. These papers document Russell Kaemmerling's participation in the Conservative Resurgence in the Southern Baptist Convention, particularly his work publishing the Southern Baptist Advocate.
Language(s): English
Conditions Governing Access: This majority of this collection is open for research. A small portion of the collection (approximately 1.0 cu.ft.) has been sealed until 2063 (50 years beginning in 2013).
Custodial History: Russell Kaemmerling donated the materials to SEBTS in February, 2011. A few additional items were added to the collection in 2013.
Processing History: Arranged and described by Craig Freeman in February, 2012. Collection level description created by Bill Youngmark on 04/08/2016.
Preferred Citation: Russell Kaemmerling papers, Archives and Special Collections, Library at Southeastern, Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary, Wake Forest, NC.
Repository: Archives and Special Collections, Library at Southeastern, Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary, Wake Forest, NC
Resource Identifier: ARC.007
Subjects and Access Points:
Southern Baptist Journal;
Southern Baptist Advocate
Southern Baptist Convention Conservative Resurgence;
First Baptist Church (West Colombia, SC);
International Mission Board, Southern Baptist Convention