Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections at Southeastern: Owens, M.O papers

This guide is designed to introduce researchers to Archives and Special Collections at Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary.

M. O. Owens papers, 1943-2011

Creator(s): Milum Oswell Owens, Jr., 1913-
Date(s): 1943-2011
Extent: 5.0 cu.ft.

Biographical Note: M. O. Owens served over fifty years in the pastoral ministry. He was pastor of Myrtle Beach Baptist Church (1939–1942), Palmetto Baptist Church, Palmetto, FL (1942–1944), First Baptist Church, Marion, NC (1944–1951), First Baptist Church, Lenoir, NC (1951–1960), East Baptist Church, Gastonia, NC (1960–1964), and Parkwood Baptist Church, Gastonia, NC (1964–1980). Since retirement in 1980 he served as interim pastor of numerous churches. He attended Furman University (B.A.), Southern Baptist Theological Seminary (Th.M., 1939), and Luther Rice Seminary (D. Min., 1976).

M. O. also served at various times in denominational and academic positions. He was, for examples, a member of the General Board of the North Carolina Baptist State Convention, a member of the Sunday School Board (SBC), a North Carolina Director on the Home Mission Board; a trustee of Gardner-Webb College; and a faculty member at Fruitland Baptist Bible Institute. He was a proactive leader in the Conservative Resurgence within the SBC as founder and first president of Baptists United, founder and first president of The Baptist Faith and Message Fellowship, founder and first Chairman of the Trustees of the Southern Baptist Advocate, and founder and first president of Conservative Carolina Baptists.

He published three books and co-authored another: Encouraging the Saints (1989), a practical commentary on 2 Corinthians; God! Do You Hear Me? (2009), a common-sense explanation of biblical teaching on prayer; John: The Word Made Flesh, a commentary on the Gospel, co-authored with Merrill C. Tenney, and A History of Eller Memorial Baptist Church (Greensboro, NC). He also edited and published for a number of years a small publication, The Watchman.

 Born:  1913/09/14

Scope and Contents: This collection contains a variety of correspondence, articles, periodicals, and records of conservative organizations and publications within the Southern Baptist Convention such as the Baptists United, the Baptist Faith and Message Fellowship, Conservative Carolina Baptists, and the Southern Baptist Advocate. A few pictures are included.

Language(s): English
Conditions Governing Access: This collection is open for research.
Related Materials: M. O. Owens papers, Southern Baptist Historical Library and Archives, Nashville, TN
Custodial History: M. O. Owens donated the bulk of the materials to SEBTS in February, 2002. Supplementary amounts were also received in February, 2008, April, 2009, and August, 2011.
Processing History: Arranged and described by Craig Freeman in December, 2013. Collection level description created by Bill Youngmark on 04/20/2016.
Preferred Citation: M.O. Owens papers, Archives and Special Collections, Library at Southeastern, Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary, Wake Forest, NC.
Repository: Archives and Special Collections, Library at Southeastern, Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary, Wake Forest, NC
Resource Identifier: ARC
Subjects and Access Points:
Conservative Resurgence;
Baptists United;
Baptist Faith and Message Fellowship;
Southern Baptist Advocate;
Conservative Carolina Baptists;
North Carolina Baptist State Convention;
Southern Baptist Convention, Sunday School Board;
Southern Baptist Convention, Home Mission Board;
Gardner-Webb College;
Fruitland Baptist Bible Institute;
Myrtle Beach Baptist Church, Myrtle Beach, NC;
Palmetto Baptist Church (Palmetto, FL);
First Baptist Church (Marion, NC);
First Baptist Church (Lenoir, NC);
East Baptist Church (Gastonia, NC);
Parkwood Baptist Church (Gastonia, NC);