Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections at Southeastern: Scoggin, B. Elmo papers

This guide is designed to introduce researchers to Archives and Special Collections at Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary.

Elmo Scoggin papers, 1930–2008, predominately 1950–2008

Creator(s): Scoggin, B. Elmo, 1915-2011; Scoggin, Hannah
Date(s): 1930–2008, predominant 1950–2008
Extent: 1.0 cu.ft.

Biographical Note: B. Elmo Scoggin was pastor, author, civic and community leader, archaeologist, and professor of Hebrew and Old Testament at Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary for 34 years.

Scoggin graduated from Gardner-Webb Jr. College (A.A.), Furman University (B.A.), and Southern Baptist Theological Seminary (Th.M., Ph.D.). He wrote the Commentary on Micah in the Broadman Bible Commentary (1972), numerous articles/essays, and over fifty book reviews. He was pastor of churches in Kentucky, Florida, and Jerusalem. He served as the Raleigh and North Carolina Liaison with the National Council on the Holocaust. His 20 seasons of archaeological field experience in the Middle East is represented in the marvelous collection of artifacts on display in the SEBTS library. In addition, he hosted a classical music program on WCPE called “Music in the Night.”

Born 1915/10/17
Died 2011/10/01

Scope and Contents: This small collection contains sermons, manuscripts, and other materials collected by Hannah Scoggin which were intended to reflect Dr. Scoggin’s community involvement, personal achievements, and writing.

Language(s): English, Hebrew
Conditions Governing Access: This collection is open for research.
Related Materials: “B. Elmo Scoggin File” in the “SEBTS Faculty & Administration Bios Collection,” Box 4. Archives and Special Collections, Library at Southeastern, Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary, Wake Forest, NC.
Custodial History: The B. Elmo Scoggin Papers were donated to SEBTS by Hannah Scoggin in August, 2012.
Processing History: Arranged and described by Craig Freeman in September, 2012. Collection level description created by Bill Youngmark on 01/08/2016.
Preferred Citation: B. Elmo Scoggin papers, Archives and Special Collections, Library at Southeastern, Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary, Wake Forest, NC.
Repository: Archives and Special Collections, Library at Southeastern, Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary, Wake Forest, NC
Resource Identifier: ARC
Subjects and Access Points:
Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary;
Clergy;
Archaeologists