Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections at Southeastern: Turner, J. Clyde papers

This guide is designed to introduce researchers to Archives and Special Collections at Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary.

J. Clyde Turner papers, 1870–1974, predominately 1899–1967

Creator(s): J. Clyde Turner, 1878-1974
Date(s): 1870–1974, predominant 1899–1967
Extent: 9.0 cu.ft.
Biographical Note: J. Clyde Turner was a Baptist pastor, a Southern Baptist Convention statesman, and an author. During seminary he was pastor of a church in Fisherville, KY (1902–1905), and after graduation he was pastor of First Baptist Church of Newport, KY (1905–1907), and Tatnall Square Baptist Church, Macon, GA (1907–1908). Most notably, he served as pastor of First Baptist Church, Greensboro, NC, for thirty-eight years (1910–1948). He authored six books on doctrinal issues, including Soul-Winning Doctrines (1943), Our Baptist Heritage (1945), The New Testament Doctrine of the Church (1951), and These Things We Believe (1956).

Turner attended Wake Forest College (1899) and Southern Baptist Seminary (Th.M., 1905). He served on the Board of trustees of WFC for twenty-five years, and was board president in 1937. The school conferred an honorary doctorate in 1920. He served on the board of trustees of SBTS for thirty-one years, and chaired the board for twelve years. He was elected president of the North Carolina Baptist State Convention four times (1929–1932).  He married Bertha Hicks in 1907.

Born 1878/03/31
Died 1974/02/01

Scope and Contents: This collection contains primarily ministry related materials, chiefly sermon manuscripts and outlines spanning sixty-plus years (1903–1967), plus a few books and pictures.

Language(s): English, Chinese, Korean, Bengali, Thai, predominantly English
Conditions Governing Access:  This collection is open for research.
Custodial History: As part of the distribution of his estate upon his death in February, 1974, J. Clyde Turner bequeathed his papers to SEBTS.
Processing History: Arranged and described by Craig Freeman in January, 2008. Collection level description created by Bill Youngmark on 02/26/2016.
Preferred Citation: J. Clyde Turner papers, Archives and Special Collections, Library at Southeastern, Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary, Wake Forest, NC.
Repository: Archives and Special Collections, Library at Southeastern, Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary, Wake Forest, NC
Resource Identifier: ARC
Subjects and Access Points:
First Baptist Church (Newport, KY):
Tatnall Square Baptist Church (Macon, GA);
First Baptist Church (Greensboro, NC);
Wake Forest College;
Southern Baptist Theological Seminary