Skip to main content

Francis A. Schaeffer Studies at Southeastern: Bibliography

Information on the unique resources and opportunities at Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary supporting the study of Francis A. Schaeffer's life, work, and thought.

Francis A. Schaeffer Bibliography

The bibliographical information on this page provides references the most significant articles, books, essays, and other print resources by and about Francis A. Schaeffer. It was created by searching library catalogs, databases, and periodical articles discovered in the Francis A. Schaeffer Papers at Southeastern. This bibliographical information focuses predominantly upon English language works and generally excludes theses and dissertations about Schaeffer, book reviews of Schaeffer's works, articles that were excerpts from Schaeffer's published books, and reprints of Schaeffer's published works in foreign languages and subsequent editions. While this is not an exhaustive bibliography, it is representative of the bulk of Schaeffer's published work and will serve as a helpful resource for scholars looking to delve deeper into Schaeffer Studies. Please contact our archives staff if you discover other published works that should be added to this bibliography.

Downloadable and Printable Versions

Chronological Bibliography of Works By Francis A. Schaeffer

Articles

Schaeffer, Francis A. “Review of a Review.” The Bible Today 42, no. 1 (October, 1948): 7–9.

“Europe – 1948.” Christian Beacon (January 6, 1949): 2.

“The Oneness of Unbelief.” Bible League Quarterly no. 199 (October-December, 1949): 49–55.

“Message of the Bible Presbyterian Church’s Representative to the Reformed Ecumenical Synod.” Christian Beacon 14, no. 45 (December, 15, 1949): 3, 6.

Other Sources

Schaeffer, Francis A. Our System of Doctrine. Philadelphia: Publications Committee of the Bible Presbyterian Church, 1942.

Articles

Schaeffer, Francis A. “A Look to the Future.” Christian Beacon 14, no. 52 (February 2, 1950): 2.

“Pragmatic Barthianism.” Bible League Quarterly (July-September, 1950): 10–11.

“An Examination of the New Modernism (pt. 1).” The Baptist Bulletin 16, no.8 (January, 1951): 6, 27–31.

“An Examination of the New Modernism (pt. 2).” The Baptist Bulletin 16, no.9 (February, 1951): 3, 20–21.

“The Christian and Modern Art.” The Bible Today, 44, no. 6 (March, 1951): 163–69.

“Threat to Freedom.” The Gospel Witness and Protestant Advocate 29, no. 46 (March 8, 1951): 12–13.

“The New Modernism, pt. 1.” Bible League Quarterly no. 205 (April-June, 1951): 4–9.

“A Recent Visit to Rome.” The Free Presbyterian Magazine 56, no. 1 (May,1951):

“Rome.” The Irish Evangelical 23, no. 12 (May, 1951): 9–12.

“The Secret Power and the Enjoyment of the Lord (pt. 1).” The Sunday School Times 93, no. 24 (June 16, 1951):

“The Secret Power and the Enjoyment of the Lord (pt. 2).” The Sunday School Times 93, no. 25 (June 23, 1951):

“The New Modernism, pt. 2.” Bible League Quarterly no. 206 (July-September, 1951): 8–12.

“Rome.” Calvinistisch Jongelingsblad (July 13, 1951): 108–

“An Important Day for Rome.” The Protestant 4, no. 7 (July, 1951): 100–01.

“Le secret de la puissance et de la joie en Jésus-Christ.” Le Témoin (August, 1951): 188–92.

“Rome.” The Conqueror! 17, no. 7 (August, 1951):

“The Christian and Modern Art.” Help and Food for the Household of Faith 70, no. 823 (August, 1951): 358–

“Modern Man and the Problem of Authority.” The Journal of Faith Theological Seminary Alumni Association 4, no. 1 (Fall, 1951): 3–10.

“Le secret de las puissance et de las joie dans le Seigneur.” Le Témoin (October, 1951): 232–36.

“Hromadka Backs Communist Cause.” Christian Beacon 16, no. 41 (November 22, 1951): 1, 5.

“Spanje 1952.” GETROUW 6, no. 1 (August, 1952): 3–4.

“Spain, 1952 (pt.1).” The Irish Evangelical (August, 1952): 9–10.

“Spain—1952.” The Covenanter Witness 49, no. 7 (August 13, 1952):

“Spain, 1952 (pt.2).” The Irish Evangelical (September, 1952): 9–11.

“Spanje—1952.” Calvinistisch Jongelingsblad 7, no. 21 (September 26, 1952): 166–

“Gardens.” Biblical Missions (November, 1952): 24.

“Spain—1952.” The Free Presbyterian Magazine 57, no. 7 (November, 1952): 175–

“If Our Task is to Be Accomplished.” The Reformation Review 1, no. 3 (April, 1954): 11–13.

“Modern Man and the Problem of Authority.” Bible League Quarterly no. 217 (April-June, 1954): 81–86.

“How Heresy Should Be Met.” The Reformation Review 1, no. 4 (July, 1954): 8–10.

“Two Chairs or Living in the Supernatural Now (pt. 1).” The Journal of the Faith Theological Seminary Alumni Association 7, no. 1 (Fall, 1955): 21–29.

“Two Chairs or Living in the Supernatural Now (pt. 2).” The Journal of the Faith Theological Seminary Alumni Association 7, no. 2 (October, 1956): 7–10.

“Faceless.” HIS Magazine (June, 1957): 11–15, 51.

“The Secret of Power and the Enjoyment of the Lord.” The Bible Presbyterian Reporter (January, 1959): 16–18.

Books

Schaeffer, Francis A. The God Who Is There. Chicago: InterVarsity, 1968.

Escape From Reason. London: InterVarsity, 1968.

Death in the City. Chicago: InterVarsity, 1969.

Articles

Schaeffer, Francis A. “Is Nobody Home in this World?” Christianity Today 4, no. 19 (June 20, 1960): 3–6.

“Some Men Weep: The Tragic Loss of Our Era.” Christianity Today 5, no. 17 (May 22, 1961): 3–5.

“The Moment for Godly Aggression.” Evangelical Presbyterian Reporter 6, no. 7 (August 9, 1961): 18–20.

“L'Umanesimo e la Cristianità.” Certezze (December, 1961): 14–19.

“Christendom en Humanisme (pt. 1).” Opbouw 6, no. 22 (September 14, 1962): 174–75.

“Christendom en Humanisme (pt. 3).” Opbouw 6, no. 24 (September 28, 1962): 189–90.

“The Time Table and the Train Club: An Allegory.” I.F.E.S. Journal (January, 4, 1963): 15–17.

“Merging of Catholic-Protestant Humanism.” The Sunday School Times 105, no. 31 (August 3, 1963): 1, 19–20.

“Faith of the Humanists.” Inter-Varsity Magazine for Students (October, 1964): 17–24.

“A Suggested Strategy.” Christianity Today 9, no. 10 (February 12, 1965): 26.

“Not Only Weep.” The Presbyterian Guardian 34, no. 5 (May-June, 1965): 69–71.

“Propositional Revelation.” TSF Bulletin no. 43 (September, 1965): 9–12.

“Literature and a Consistent Christian Faith.” The Sunday School Times 107, no. 40 (October 2, 1965): 6–7.

“The Practice of Truth.” TSF Bulletin no. 49 (Autumn, 1967): 18–20.

“Après le Congrès Mondel d'Evangélisation de Berlin.” Le Témoin no. 3 (March, 1967): 64–66.

“Despair in Art.” HIS Magazine 29, no. 1 (October, 1968): 6–10.

 “Foreign Films: Freedom through Illusion.” HIS Magazine 29, no. 3 (December, 1968): 31–4.

“Alternative to Despair.” HIS Magazine 29, no. 4 (January, 1969): 31–33.

“The New Modernism and the Bible.” Christian News 2, no. 3 (January 20, 1969): 6–8.

“Marks of a Man.” HIS Magazine 29, no. 5 (February, 1969): 36–38.

“The Universe and Two Chairs.” Christianity Today 13, no. 15 (April 25, 1969): 8–11.

“The Timetable and the Train Club: An Allegory.” CEN (August 29, 1969): 6??

“Why You can't Understand Your Child.” Today no. 130 (September 7, 1969): 2–4, 11–12.

“The Practice of Truth.” Christian News 2, no. 39 (September 29, 1969): 8.

“Truth and Love.” The Christian News (October 27, 1969): 7, 9.

Books

Schaeffer, Francis A. The Church at the End of the Twentieth Century. Downers Grove: InterVarsity, 1970.

The Mark of the Christian. Downers Grove: InterVarsity, 1970.

Pollution and the Death of Man: A Christian View of Ecology. Wheaton: Tyndale, 1970.

The Church Before the Watching World. Downers Grove: InterVarsity, 1971.

True Spirituality. Wheaton: Tyndale, 1971.

Back to Freedom and Dignity. Downers Grove: InterVarsity, 1972.

Basic Bible Studies. Wheaton: Tyndale, 1972.

Genesis in Space and Time. Downers Grove: InterVarsity, 1972.

He Is There and He Is Not Silent. Wheaton: Tyndale, 1972.

The New Super-Spirituality. Downers Grove: InterVarsity, 1972.

Art and the Bible. Downers Grove: InterVarsity, 1973.

No Little People. Downers Grove: InterVarsity, 1974.

Two Contents, Two Realities. Downers Grove: InterVarsity, 1974.

Joshua and the Flow of Biblical History. Downers Grove: InterVarsity, 1975.

No Final Conflict. Downers Grove: InterVarsity, 1975.

How Should We Then Live? The Rise and Decline of Western Thought and Culture. Old Tappan, NJ: Revell, 1976

Schaeffer, Francis A., and C. Everett Koop. Whatever Happened to the Human Race? Old Tappan, NJ: Revell, 1979.

Essays

Schaeffer, Francis A. “Form and Freedom in the Church.” In Let the Earth Hear His Voice: International Congress on World Evangelization Lausanne, Switzerland. Ed. J. D. Douglas, 361–67. Minneapolis: World Wide Publications, 1975.

“God Gives His People a Second Opportunity” Forward to The Foundation of Biblical Authority Ed. James Montgomery Boice, 15–20. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 1978.

Articles

Shaeffer, Francis A. “The Practice of Truth.” Themelios 7, no. 2-3 (1970): 3–5.

“The Mark of The Christian.” Christianity Today 14, no. 24 (September 11, 1970): 7–10.

“Shattering the Plastic Culture.” HIS Magazine 31, no. 1 (October, 1970): 1, 3, 8.

“Christian Revolutionaries.” HIS Magazine 31, no. 2 (November, 1970): 26–28, 31.

“Christian Compassion: Have We Lost Our Touch.” Eternity 21, no. 12 (December, 1970): 16–18.

“The Irrationality of Modern Thought.” Christianity Today 15, no. 5 (December 4, 1970): 10–14.

“Our Generation's Awesome Choice: God or Nobody Home in the Universe.” Moody Monthly (February, 1971): 23, 48–51.

“The Message of the Artist.” The Christian Teacher (March-April, 1971): 24–5.

“He is There and He is not Silent, pt. 1.” Bibliotheca Sacra 128, no. 511 (July-September, 1971): 195–205.

“The Mark of the Christian.” Campus Life (December, 1971): 39, 41–6.

“He is There and He is not Silent, pt. 2.” Bibliotheca Sacra 128, no. 512 (October-December, 1971): 300–15.

“He is There and He is not Silent, pt. 3.” Biblotheca Sacra 129, no. 513 (January-March, 1972): 3–19.

“This We Must Do.” The Presbyterian Journal 30, no. 42 (February 16, 1972): 7–10.

“Beware the New Super Spirituality.” Eternity 23, no. 11 (November, 1972): 15–17, 36?

“Where are We? A Challenge to the Church to Come of Age in a Post-Christian Era.” New Wine Magazine (December, 1973): 73–6.

“Race and Economics.” Christianity Today 18, no. 7 (January 4, 1974): 18–19.

“Manifesting the Supernatural.” The Overcomer (April, 1974): 28.

“What Did the Shepherds See? What Did the Shepherds Do?" HIS Magazine 35, no. 3 (December, 1974): 15–19.

“Back to Freedom & Dignity, pt. 1.” Incite 2, no. 1 (February, 1975): 10–17, 34.

“No Compromise.” Christian Graduate 28, no. 2 (June, 1975): 33.

“Back to Freedom & Dignity, pt. 2.” Incite 2, no. 2 (July, 1975): 18–24.

“Avoiding the Dragons.” The Christian Leader (November 12, 1975): 2–8.

“L' E'GLISE EN CETTE FIN DU XXeme SIÈCLE.” Etudes Evangeliques 36, no. 2-3 (1976): 54–7.

“Ash Heap Lives.” The Mennonite 91, no. 1 (January 6, 1976): 1–5.

“The Watershed.” CALL 3, no. 3 (July, 1976): 1, 8.

“The Practice of Truth.” Aletheia (December, 1976): 9–10.

“The Mark of the Christian.” ΧРИСТИАИН (January, 1977):

“How Shall We Then Live? The Rise and Decline of Western Thought and Culture.” Christian Review (March, 1977): 6–7.

“The Unifying Factor in the Steps of Despair.” Alternate (1978): 11–

“How Should We Then Live?” Moody Monthly 78, no. 5 (January, 1978): 38–40.

“The Decline of Twentieth-Century Man.” New Wine Magazine 11, no. 2 (February, 1979): 25–29.

“The Abortion of the Human Race.” with C. Everett Koop, Life of Faith 2, no. 7 (July, 1979): 10–13.

Schaeffer, Francis A. and C. Everett Koop. “Mercy Killing without Mercy.” Life of Faith 2, no. 8 (August, 1979): 8–11.

“What has Happened to the Human Race?” Life of Faith (September, 1979): 10–13.

Other Sources

Schaeffer, Francis A. Introduction to Francis Schaeffer: Study Guide to a Trilogy. Downers Grove, IL: InterVarsity, 1975.

Books

Schaeffer, Francis A. A Christian Manifesto. Westchester, IL: Crossway, 1981.

The Complete Works of Francis A. Schaeffer: A Christian Worldview. Wheaton: Crossway, 1982.

The Great Evangelical Disaster. Westchester, IL: Crossway, 1984.

Essays

Schaeffer, Francis A. “Some Perspectives on Art.” In The Christian Imagination: Essays on Literature and the Arts. Ed. Leland Ryken, 83–97. Grand Rapids: Baker, 1981.

“Some Perspectives on Art.” In The Christian Imagination: Essays on Literature and the Arts. Ed. Leland Ryken, 83–97. Grand Rapids: Baker, 1981.

“The Secular Humanist World View Versus the Christian World View and Biblical Perspectives on Military Preparedness.” In Who is for Peace? Francis Schaeffer, Vladimir Bukovsky and James Hitchcock, 11–31. Nashville: Thomas Nelson, 1983.

“It is Your Life That Is Involved.” In Who is for Life? Mother Teresa, Francis A. Schaeffer, Malcolm Muggeridge, John R. W. Stott, Alison Davis, et. al., 39–46. Westchester, IL: Crossway, 1984.

Articles

Schaeffer, Francis A. “Lessons for Today and Tomorrow.” Tenth: An Evangelical Quarterly (January, 1981): 2–9.

“The Dust of Life.” Eternity (March, 1981): 37–41.

“Exhibiting God.” Tenth: An Evangelical Quarterly (April, 1981): 10–16.

“The Oneness of Unbelief.” Bible League Quarterly no. 328 (March, 1982):

"A Christian Manifesto." Progressive Vision (May, 1982):

“Biblical Perspectives on Military Preparedness.” Moody Monthly 83, no. 2 (October, 1982): 7–9.

“A Biblical Perspective on Military Preparedness.” Cross Roads (1983):

“Christian Faith and Human Rights.” The Simon Greenleaf Law Review 2 (1983): 3–12.

“Warning: What Do We Have?” Decision (January, 1983): 6.

“Our Battle for Humanness.” Moody Monthly 83, no. 11 (July-August, 1983): 12–17.

“Christianity: Not Names and Ism.” Fundamentalist Journal 2, no. 9 (October, 1983): 25–27.

“Priorities 1982.” Insight (1983): 1–7.

Schaeffer, Francis A. and C. Everett Koop. “The Slaughter of Innocents.” Fundamentalist Journal 2, no. 1 (January, 1983): 21–22.

Other Sources

Schaeffer, Francis A. Plan for Action: An Action Alternative Handbook for Whatever Happened to the Human Race? Old Tappan, NJ: Revell, 1980.

Books

Schaeffer, Francis A. The Francis A. Schaeffer Trilogy: The Three Essential books in One Volume. Westchester, IL: Crossway, 1990.

The Finished Work of Christ: The Truth of Romans 1–8. Wheaton: Crossway, 1998.

Loading