Skip to main content

Francis A. Schaeffer Studies at Southeastern: Other Archival Collections

Information on the unique resources and opportunities at Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary supporting the study of Francis A. Schaeffer's life, work, and thought.

Presbyterian Church in America (PCA) Historical Center (http://www.pcahistory.org/)

Francis August Schaeffer Papers [Early Ministry], 1943-1947

"The Francis A. Schaeffer Papers consist mainly of correspondence with leaders of the Bible Presbyterian Church [BPC] denomination and its Midwest Presbytery, during the time that Schaeffer was pastor of the First Bible Presbyterian Church, St. Louis, MO, and moderator of Midwest Presbytery. Significant correspondents include J.O. Buswell, Jr., R.H. Cox, Thomas.G. Cross, R.Laird Harris, R. Hastings, G.J. Holdcroft, Robert G. Rayburn, and Peter Stam. The collection also includes a copy of The New Modernism and the Bible, by Francis Schaeffer, an address given at the Second Plenary Congress of the International Council of Christian Churches, Geneva, Switzerland, 1950." (Content Summary, Francis August Schaeffer Papers [Early Ministry] finding aid, PCA Historical Center)

Billy Graham Center Archives and Wheaton College Archives (http://archon.wheaton.edu/index.php)

Francis and Edith Schaeffer Papers, 1968-1999

"The Francis and Edith Schaeffer papers are organized into two major series, one for each individual. One sub-series that is found under each author is Book Manuscripts. Lectures is a sub-series under Francis Schaeffer, as is Media and Publications. Secondary Material is a third series in the collection.  The manuscripts sections of both major series contain the holographic and typescript versions of three books, Hidden Art, True Spirituality, and a book on Ecology. The lectures of Francis Schaeffer are on the subject of Christian Epistomology. Media material contains addresses given at L'Abri in September and October, 1968.  Publications and Secondary contain only a few items by or about Francis Schaeffer." (Scope and Contents, Francis and Edith Schaeffer Papers, 1968-1969 finding aid, Wheaton College Archives and Special Collections.)

Ephemera of Francis August Schaeffer, 1963

"One tape of an informal discussion, with questions following an address at Wheaton College, 1963. Topics include existential philosophy, facing evil, and the origins of L'Abri. For more information, please see guide." (Brief Description, Ephemera of Francis August Schaeffer Guide, Billy Graham Center Archives, Wheaton College.)

Related Collections

Other Related Archival Collections