Creator: Schaeffer, Francis A. (Francis August)
Date: 1822-1999, predominant 1935-1984
Extent: 100.2 cu.ft.
Scope and Contents: This collection contains correspondence, manuscripts, annotated periodicals and books, research notes, audio recordings, films, and other materials ranging from 1822-1999 (predominantly from 1935-1984) that were created and collected by Francis A. Schaeffer. These papers represent the bulk of Schaeffer's personal papers accumulated throughout his lifetime, and, as such, they document many different facets of his work and ministry. Papers in the collection document Schaeffer's communication with Christian leaders and those seeking his advice, his assessment of cultural ideas and trends in the margins of periodicals, books, and other publications, and the development of his own lectures and publications throughout the editing process. The audio recordings in the collection document Schaeffer's lectures, many of which were made available during his lifetime through the L'Abri Tape Library, as well as previously unavailable recordings of Saturday Night Talks and other group discussions between Schaeffer and visitors at L'Abri.
Language(s): English, French, Italian, Korean, predominant English
Conditions Governing Access: The Francis A. Schaeffer papers are owned by the Francis A. Schaeffer Foundation. Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary (SEBTS) serves as the custodian of the collection. Access to this collection at SEBTS is restricted by the Foundation and requires the approval of the Director of the Francis A. Schaeffer Collection. To request permission to conduct research in the Francis A. Schaeffer papers, please see additional information on research inquiries.
Technical Access: Audio recordings and films in the collection cannot be accessed in their original format. They are made available to approved researchers as soon as digital copies are created. Only a limited number of films in the collection will be digitized.
Conditions Governing Use: Copyright for materials created by Francis and Edith Schaeffer is owned by the Francis A. Schaeffer Foundation and the Foundation's permission is required to include substantial quotes in any published work (see the Access Request Form for details). Reproduction of any materials in the collection in any format for any purpose is prohibited.
Existence and Location of Copies: The papers and audio recordings in the Francis A. Schaeffer papers have been digitized and digital copies are available for use onsite at SEBTS, The Francis A. Schaeffer Foundation Headquarters in Gryon, Switzerland, and the Hill House in Austin, Texas. Please contact your preferred research site to request permission to access the digital collection and plan your research visit.
Repository: Archives and Special Collections, Library at Southeastern, Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary, Wake Forest, NC
Resource Identifier: ARC.001